Bradford Cox & Atlas Sound ‘My Sharona’ in Minneapolis

For those unaware of the antics of Atlas Sound/ Deerhunter frontman Bradford Cox during a gig  in Minneapolis this week let me enlighten you. During a show with Atlas Sound a heckler from the sold-out crowd requested ‘My Sharona’. Well the guy got more than he expected. Cox picked up on the request  and  launched into an hour-long jam of the Knack’s classic ( and coincidentally George Bush jr.’s fav) for a whole hour, which resembled a sonic mass of feed backing guitar, tribal motorik drum flourishes and spectral vocal embellishments- and it sounded fucking great. Amongst the onstage chaos the original heckler was told to get up on the stage and systematically ordered to strip by Cox.Before we could get a glimpse of any real nudity the unfortunate bastard was shunned off the stage after beginning to strum a long on a acoustic guitar. While this event may be surreal, and hint at deeper problems with Cox himself, Black Tar doesn’t give a fuck about gossip. Instead, this free form improvisation is probably the closet thing you’ll see to ‘punk’ this year, and worth checking out for those critics who feel that new music has lost it’s edge. (plus, there are some awesome quotes circulating from Cox himself about the gig) . Check out the series of videos and quotes below:

Pitchfork interview with Bradford Cox

“I am just a little, tiny punk person,” he said. “It’s not like fucking Lana Del Rey carved an upside down cross on her cheek and defecated all over herself on stage at fucking Bonnaroo.”

“First of all, I never would ask anyone to throw chairs. They lifted the chairs safely above their heads, then they put the chairs down neatly where they were. And I never claimed to be a performance artist. I said that I was a performer. I’m a paid entertainer. That’s all I am. I don’t take myself any more seriously than that.

Second, the only person I asked to strip was the person who commandeered my stage [by requesting ‘My Sharona’] and made the show about his self-interest. I tried to emasculate somebody whose ego was super potent. He asked me to strip when he called out the name of the song. It was a joke; he’s basically throwing a dollar bill at the foot of the stripper. And I’m just saying hey, let’s reverse the roles. Come on stage. Do something entertaining. Entertain me. ”

“I am a terrorist. As a homosexual, my job is simply to sodomize mediocrity. I am terrified and horrified and shocked that anyone would mention Phish in any article related to me.

“My terror, continued. People had a fantastic, great time at this concert. At the end of the night, the majority of the audience was on stage dancing and having a great time. I’m a good time kind of guy. I’m like Sly from the Family Stone. I’m all about smiling and good times and white teeth. It was a very natural show and the people that didn’t like it can suck my dick. They got the full fucking set of emotional fucking sincere whiny white people music. And then they got fucking ‘My Sharona’ as interpreted by Faust. It was like a death trance.”

“People are like, ‘Oh, he’s fucking crazy, he’s melting down, blah, blah.’ I just shoot the shit with people. I don’t give a fuck how it comes off. People have to be themselves. It’s just some little punk show. It’s irritating to have people find your behavior interesting when you’re not doing anything except being yourself. I’m just in a dark zone, searching for a little humor.”

Alex Hall

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Bradford Cox & Atlas Sound ‘My Sharona’ in Minneapolis

  1. […] Sharona-gate, you’d be forgiven for forgetting that there’s another songwriter in Deerhunter’s […]

Leave a Reply

